June 26, 2008

  • summer hibernation? or, hara-kiri?





    Though summer has, technically, only just begun, I must say that I'm handling it rather well this year.  Generally, any temperature over 70 degrees Fahrenheit makes me pout, hide inside the house, and not answer the door.  The colder the outdoor temperature, the happier I am, and while that is still true ... I am SO trying to embrace all the seasons.  DESPITE descriptions like humid, MUGGY, and MURDER-BY-JUNGLE-HEAT-HELL-FIRE.

    I'm not sure what is different for me thus far, maybe just my attitude, but I hope that it lasts through the next three months. 

    PLEASE, I need it to last the next three months ... or, sign me up for summer hibernation.  Or, hara-kiri. 

     

Comments (17)

  • it reached 115f in southern cali the past wknd. you wouldve of been gone like the wicked witch of the east. all melted and gooey.

  • ah, summer.

    i'm not a big fan of the excessive heat either...

    but i'll survive.

    autumn... now that's my season.

    I love the photo.... it makes me miss having a cat.

    be well,

      *~matthew~*

  • You can't get any genuine sleeping done in the summer. It's bright and hot all the time. Summer is definitely the least spiritual of the seasons.

  • I suppose I SHOULD stop complaining about the fact that winter last until June 7th this year. At least I THINK there won't be anymore snow ... until Sept. +SIGH+ Sorry to bemoan the weather on your blog.

  • @Tom - That's okay ... Someone needs to balance out my excessive hatred of summer!

    @Steal_the_Crumbs - I wrote this post last night when I felt positive, and then when I woke up this morning, the house felt like it was on fire.  I turned on the air conditioner.  I'm ready to get on a train and head north now.

    @bleuzeus - Well, if you ever wanna borrow one of mine ...

    @owbert - Yes, yes ... melted and gooey, and RUNNING TO ALASKA!!  And, trust me, the heat makes me as mean as the wicked witch of the east AND west put together!

  • erk.. i hate the summer heat too... so stick and uncomfortable!

  • @soNOTcool - both east AND west?! silly, your supposed heat must be getting to you, because put together, both witches with their attributes, one for being wicked and the other for being a goody-no-shoes, it would just cancel each other out. you would just be a vanilla witch that is indifferent to either morality. 

  • My boyfriend is the same way...

  • @owbert - Actually, at least in Oz, the east and west witches were both wicked and they were sisters.  The good witch in Munchkinland was Glinda, the good witch of the north!    Actually, though, I'm quite indifferent most of the time, so that works too!

  • I thought you were writing on behalf of the cat for a few minutes. I SWEAR. 

    I am hibernating, too. But I'm hibernating b/c I don't have a job and feel pathetico.  Anyway, yeah, it's MUGGY in our neck of the woods. 

  • i am stuck inside because of fires. fires everywhere. sigh.

  • very cute!  I love cats.

  • I'm very in line with that mentality myself.  I don't mind sunny days, it's the heat that just kicks me when I'm down.  Sleeping gets harder,  thinking gets harder, heck breathing gets harder.  So much humidity in Toronto because of our (not so) beautiful lake.  It would be a far more beautiful lake if it were unpolluted and did not send waves of misty hot air over the city to settle with the smog.

    What helps me are cold showers.  They can cool my core body temperature enough for me to get to sleep before it rises again to join the night air.

    Peace,

    Shane

  • its that hell fire thing that gets me and that humid foggy mess.  Everytime you post a photo of this cat I get jealous.  I WANT this cat.  Not to mention you have a keen sense of picture perfectness involving said cat.

  • i haven't read it -- i'll look for it in the bookstore.
    thanks for thinking of me xo

    ugh, i FEEL you and this heat.
    i'm constantly in a pool of my own sweat.
    the biking is nice though, until ... you know, i hit a stop light.
    and then it POURS.

  • Sweet kitty!

  • Dear inscrutable Kitty,
      I wish to schmooch your sweet face peering through the dill (?) with summer breezes fluffing your fur.

    signed,
      Tim

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *