August 29, 2008

  • home comforts: 29 -- a simple vegan recipe





    Since I first posted about doing the Quantum Wellness cleanse back in June of this year, I've had hundreds of hits just looking for "Quantum Wellness cleanse recipes".  I suppose that it doesn't help that while gluten is not allowed on the cleanse, the recipes in the back of the book CONTAIN GLUTEN. 

    What the hell?!

    Anyhow, I'm no chef, but I thought that I'd share an easy, versatile GLUTEN-FREE (I think) dish that can be adjusted to suit vegans, vegetarians, and omnivores alike.

    (Note: I originally found this recipe in The Vegan Family Cookbook, and have adapted it to suit my own taste and that of theother23.) 


    "Mexican-Style Stuffed Peppers"

    1/2 cup uncooked long-grain brown rice
    1-1/4 cups vegetable broth
    2 bell peppers (red, orange, yellow, or purple)
    1-1/2 tablespoons olive oil
    1/2 onion, diced
    1/2 can diced green chilies
    1/3 cup salsa (more if not using chilies)
    1/3 cup frozen corn
    1/3 cup of shredded vegan (or regular) cheddar cheese
    1 teaspoon kosher salt

    optional:  1/3 cup kidney or black beans; 1/4 cup sliced black olives 

    Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  In saucepan, combine rice and vegetable broth.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 40-45 minutes.  Cut peppers in half vertically, clean out membranes and seeds.  Place in baking dish (or on baking sheet if you like them darker), and put them in the oven for approximately 25 minutes. 

    Heat the oil, and then saute the onion until tender.  Mix together cooked rice, onion, chilies, salsa, and corn.  (If using beans and/or olives, also add at this time.)  Stuff peppers with mixture, and place them in baking dish/sheet.  You might want to sprinkle cheeze (or cheeze) on top at this point.  Place in oven and cook for 10 to 15 minutes. 

    Two servings (?)

    (An aside:  The second photo?  Some peppers that I put in the fridge for theother23 to eat later.  And, though you can't really tell from the photo, I used purple bell peppers.) 







Comments (18)

  • I have this stuff in my frig!  Well, I think I will use fresh jalapenos instead of green chilis just cause I have em, but YUM!

  • damn yummy lookin

  • That looks soooooo good.  Stuffed peppers have to be in my top 5 favorite foods. 

  • Yum.  I have never had stuffed peppers, but I will make these for sure. 

  • That looks like something my Hispanic aunt would make... YUM! DELICIOUS! At my cousins restaurant they do something similar but they stuff plantains. So good. 

  • Thanks!! I will definitely be making that one. I just ate, but somehow your post made me hungry again!

  • Delish.

    I was reading my old journals recently and came across where I'd written about some woman in a random public place reading Quantum Wellness.  It made me laugh and think of you.

  • I am fully in love with your photographs...I mean seriously... wow.

  • @ibebob - Thanks so much.

  • looks great & thanks for the idea!

  • You would SO laugh if you heard my stomach when I got to your blog... the funny thing is I didn't really think I was hungry until I read the recipe and saw the photos...LOL
    GROWL!!! that is putting it mildly....
    Thanks for sharing...looks YUMMY!!!
    I hope you have a great weekend!
    Tina

  • That looks delicious!

  • RYC: You have no idea how much your comment touched me!!!
    it motivates me so much when I read things like that!!!
    Thank you for making my day!!!!
    Tina

  • This looks like it would be very tasty, but my hubby is a meat man!    I'd like to try this though.     I may keep the recipe.    Ava

  • @avajsouth - I make mine with beans for protein, but I made my husband a cheeseburger to go with his.

  • Now thats a stuffed pepper I would eat.

    My Mom use to make heres with rice and hamburger meat.. with tomato sauce... ew...
    Yours look extremely yummy and I may just try them out to be.. WILD.

  • Jodi, I made these tonite and they were yummy!  I had never had stuffed peppers before, and although I love peppers raw and cooked, the best part was the filling.  I made mine with corn and black beans!  Thank you for the dinner inspiration.

  • @mykidsmom - Thanks for reporting back to me!!!  I'm so glad that you enjoyed them.  I just love adding beans and feel like I'm getting a real meal. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment