August 21, 2008

  • keep your lens close, but keep your foes' toes closer





    Just a quick note about the 'unmasked' series ...

    I have received quite a few AWESOME and diverse masks from some long-time blog friends, and I am very excited to photograph them, but I have been lagging a bit with time and, most especially, costuming.  For me, the most difficult (yet fun) part of setting up the shoots is coming up with a dynamic and monochromatic outfit.  Once I work out those kinks, shooting will again commence. 

    In the meantime, thank you Tim, Aimee, Jennifer, and Helen for the brilliant masks.  You are all amazing.


    Speaking of photos, I have been watching another long-time blog friend, Jackie Donnelly, begin a successful photography business, and I am especially in awe of her wedding captures.  (She also specializes in food/wine photography and the female form.)  Beyond amazing. 

    Just look at THIS PHOTO.  And, WHAT ABOUT THIS?  Or, THIS

    To see more of her work, either check out donnellyimages.com or her Flickr portfolio.  If you are interested in contracting her services, she works in the Pacific Northwest area of the United States and Canada.   

    If/when X gets married, I'll be flying Jackie to the top of Fujiyama, where X claims to be getting hitched.  I'm not sure that I'll go, but at least I know that there'll be really good pictures of the event. 


    One last photography note:  My print sale has been extended (because I kept forgetting to post that it was nearing its end) until Sunday, August 24th.  I'll be ordering the prints on the following Monday.  For more info, please see the original post HERE

    The prices are as follows: 

    • 4 x 6" -- $7 OR $4 each for two or more. 
    • 5 x 7" -- $12 OR $8 each for two or more.
    • 8 x 12" (or 8 x 10") -- $20 OR $14 each for two or more. 
    • 11 x 14" (-ish) -- $36 OR $25 for two or more. 

    So, for example, two (2) 5x7" photographs would cost $16 and three (3) 8x10" prints would be $42. 

    After Sunday, I will not be selling prints for approximately one month while I reconfigure my business goals, build a storefront, and create new products. 

    Thank you!!

Comments (16)

  • For X? I'd CLIMB to the top of Fujiyama to get those shots!

    Thanks for the shout out. I'm MORE than honored (and I admit I'm blushing a little) at your high accollades. I think when you do something that you truly LOVE, it shows in your work, you know?

    Speaking of photos, that photo of X up there? That's just positively CREEPY. LOL

  • My mom is a photographer, ya know. I gotta show you here work someday. Let me check if her website is up and running. She's doing an awesome project on "abandoned spaces." 

    Can't wait to see more of the mask pics.

  • Once you get the photo biz up and running, and I'm working, I want to order some pics for a few rooms. We are also still reorganizing furniture and stuff, so I need time to figure out where I'd place your photos.

  • @kitkatsplash - Gosh, I think that I vaguely remember you mentioning that.  I'm glad you told me again.  I don't, well, consider myself a photographer, yet it's a hobby (capturing moments) that occasionally brings me an income.  I'm so scared to ... advertise myself.  Anyhow, I'd love to hear your perspective and hear about your mum, and of course I'd love to see her work. 

  • Here's the beginning of my mom's latest work. I actually think her new stuff is MUCH better and that how ever she's uploading these shots is not doing them justice http://kevfilmorephoto.com/07_trespassing/tres_01.html

  • What a wonderful photographer....  I've thought about asking a local photographer here in town if he needed an assistant, but I haven't the guts or the money to put together a good portfolio...

    And I think that's the first time I've seen X with eyeliner...  I mean, what I can see of her, of course, lol.

  • @SuddenlyISee - For the purpose of the photo, I applied thick liquid eyeliner (which I received for free with some other purchase at some point in the past).  She took it off as soon as the photo shoot was over.  She doesn't much like to wear make-up so far. 

  • @kitkatsplash - Amazing.  I am really enjoying browsing through her work.  Thanks for sharing. 

  •  I can't wait to see more pictures.  you can't tell from what I've posted lately, but you have definitely inspired me.

  • @soNOTcool - Lol, I did think it was a bit different for her.  It does give the picture a good funk.  Like a serial killer from the seventies, maybe.

  • @ombrastarr - Wow, thank you. 

  • That's really funny because *I* noticed the eyeliner first thing! I thought "Oh! X has on eyeliner, Spanish-style!" And she looks like she has seriously smeared lipstick on, clown-style! HAH.

    And yeah, 70s serial killer. Seriously disturbing photo. LOL

  • @KameraSutra - The Saran Wrap is her idea (copying Dexter) and the smeared make-up was my idea.  I think that we are going to do a few more of these. 

  • No, dear. Thank YOU. This summer would have been horrible (a trip to Chicago and Southern Wisconsin notwithstanding), not to mention horribly uninteresting if not for you. Thank you. 

  • a true business woman wouldve of pitched with an enticement of a flex-pay-plan.

  • @owbert - Heh.  I'll keep that in mind.   Then again, I'm not a 'true business woman'. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment