August 20, 2008

  • still flooded after two months


     

    I don't know how many of you remember the torrential rain and flooding in Wisconsin during the month of June.  Two months later, just fifteen minutes from my village, many locations are still flooded (and rotting and moldy). 

    That's my lame video above (in Spring Green, the focus of the following article), which I shot in June. 

    Here is THE ARTICLE.  If you check it out, be sure to click on the photos on the right-hand side of the page.  Haunting, yet beautiful. 

Comments (7)

  • wow, i can't believe it's all still flooded! what a mess and a tragedy for the people that STILL have water in there basements! we on the other hand are in a drought...i seriously can't remember the last time it rained here.

  • ryc: Thanks for directing me to soulemama's site.  She is an expert nester.  I've started nesting, for sure, but in doing so realize just how much I have to get done before the baby arrives...ahhh!

  • That's really sad.  And as usual the media hit it once and moved on...

  • 2 months?! That's crazy and really, really sad. How much land is that? I'm surprised they can't get turbo pumps or anything... I guess that kind of thing is expensive, but so is water damage. 

    Wait, is that the same as this (link)? I was curious to see if a graveyard was ever flooded to the point of floating bones (kind of a morbid thought) and "flooded graveyard in wisconsin" came up 3rd on google.

  • @freethegnomes - I think that it is the same one!!  I also had those morbid thoughts, not just recently but also during Hurricane Katrina/ New Orleans.  I'm not sure about the total amount of land (for just that area, as that is one town of many), but the article does mention "160-acre lakes".  I'm tempted to visit for photos, but I don't do well with bad smells. 

  • oy vey, lady... oy vey...

  • Who could forget? That's remarkable! I'm sorry to hear the waters haven't receded and that you're now battling mold! That's insane!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment