July 25, 2008

  • who are the people in your neighborhood?





    I want to thank each and every one of you that left a sweet comment, a helpful suggestion, sent an email, made me laugh, or offered support in any way in response to that last frenzy-of-a-post.  Many of you moved me to tears (in a good way).  I appreciate your sentiments and I feel like I'm part of a real community here. 

    No, I AM part of a wonderful, REAL community. 

    A community of people that, if you were my neighbors, I would answer the door for you

    But, if I lead you to the garden instead of inside ... it's because my house is askew.  Please, just pretend that you're interested in the flowers.   







Comments (23)

  • very intimate pics

  • I am so glad that you can feel as you do.  I used to share more fully and fundamentally in this community, but things change.   I still sometimes feel the REAL here but from a great distance.  Like one can feel the warmth of a ray of sunshine even though its originating an astronomical unit (AU) away.

  • I was going to post something nice and heartfelt here about being a part of your community, but I just woke up, finally had internet today (for now) and thought I would check my subs and the first thing I see is...

    'who are the people in your neighborhood?'

    That song is going trough my mind like a chainsaw through melting butter.  You did that on purpose!  You can't quote a Sesame Street song and not expect it to stick into the minds of your readers for hours and hours, causing them to finally run from their apartment, drive their motorcycle at high speeds through the streets of Taipei screaming the lyrics of the song like a sick, sadistic, psychopath, scaring the poor Chinese ladies on the corner and making people wonder "what the hell is wrong with that foreigner"!

    The only cure for a song stuck in your head is to listen to the dreaded 'Roxanna' by The Police... but that is only for drastic measures.  Although you may have pushed me to that point already... and I haven't even brushed my teeth yet!

  • Thats what I love about Xanga. My blog is actually a secret I keep from all of my friends & family and I kind of like it that way. 

    sending your way

  • nice series of shots. now you've got me thinkin about this place...all these years...and you

  • @BrysonMC - I did do it on purpose.  I will admit that!

    It's time for me to go to bed ... and, ROXANNE! is in my head, so you've had your revenge.  Heh.

  • thats your macro isn't it? yea? you know i got your back lady. xoxo

  • I AM interested in the flowers.

  • RYC- No no one has really caught my eye other than the guy who made the dress out of blue cups on the first episode. I disliked the majority of the dresses in the 2nd episode. (why did all the models buy that same fabric?) Haha yeah, Suede & what is with that "girl licious" guy.  The rocker girl who wants to make everything in leather kinda bugs me. 

    And thank you for your comment, it was very sweet

  • @key19 -  I love PR but have to fully agree. The cups dress was nice. It looked like it was made of pleather... though you know that girl had to be uncomfortable wearing it. The others are trying to hard to have a 'memorable' personality I feel. Sorry, had to put my two cents in.

    Jodi- Isn't it amazing how people you've never met can make you feel more included than the people you've known forever? I have a great group of family and friends but there is some comfort in the advice and views of strangers.... who don't feel like strangers. = )

  • @firephly - No, not a macro, Meg.  I don't even presently own one, though I am using a rental lens (from rentglass.com).   

  • mrrrrroooow.
    i love you, j.

    you are one of my absolute best.
    really and truly.
    you are.

  • I love the way the purple and green look like fireworks or water in the background in the second one, and the way the white is peeking out in the third one..  It's like watching an exotic dance of flowers..

    ~

  • I'm glad to be a part of your community & you can invite me into your garden any day!

  • I love that first photo...the clarity of the bud is astounding.

  • ah,, i agree with justin,,, the first picture is striking..

    the bud, and then the back ground is perfect.

    as always jodi,, very nice capture.

    be well,

      *~matthew~*

  • Jodi, talk to the doctor about the Fentonyl patch.  It has helped a great deal with Knight's pain.  Now of course he is going through a whole new thing but no pain from the cancer at this point.

    Love Nancy

  • @Nanny - Nancy, I don't have normal pain where it's located in one spot.  I have a neurological disorder, so I need to treat that aspect of it and not the pain/stiffness itself, but thank you for the recommendation. 

  • I would never have known that your house was in disarray, I would have just thought that you were proud of your garden and wanted me to spend time there!

  • I love extreme closeups. You must have an excellent macro lens for those flower shots. I would love to get closeups of insects, spiders, and the like. But I can't afford decent equipment.
    DSC

  • @DeadSkinCells - Actually, this is NOT a macro lens, but a wide angle lens ... AND ... it's rented!  My cousin recommended http://www.rentglass.com, and so far I am  happy with the service.  I also like http://www.ziplens.com; I rented a macro from them and it was incredibly powerful.  The lens used in these shots is this one:  http://www.rentglass.com/itemdetail.aspx?showitem=101

  • @soNOTcool - I had no idea you could do that with a wide-angle lens. I also did not know that one could rent these. Nice work. If I were a serious nature photographer, I would drop the $900+ for a

    Canon MP-E 65mm 1-5X Macro Lens (see http://photo.net/canon/mp-e-65). But I have neither the money nor the skill.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *