Comments (12)

  • Woosh.  The great flood has truly hit our middle country.  Hope you guys are all good and safe.

  • So be honest with me... are the mosquitoes bad this year? I remember them quite vividly from years ago..

  • @IagosEnvy - A few weeks ago, they were bad, which was VERY EARLY for our area.  Since the flooding, I haven't really noticed it, but only because a) it's been too rainy to be outside or b) we haven't been in a location with standing water or c) I haven't been outside at dusk.  Mosquitoes are predicted to be really bad this year. 

  • Holy crap!  I didn't eat lunch there on Saturday either!!!  What are the chances...

  • @soNOTcool - I wondered if the fact that the water was on the move more than standing would make a difference this year. I have vivid memories of canoing on the chain of lakes (Waupaca?) and looking down and seeing a mosquito dance party on my arms. People here are so freaked out about west nile virus that if they see one mosquito they freak out. It makes me laughing knowing what the rest of country goes through.

  • @IagosEnvy - Well, the water isn't really 'on the move' anymore; I'd say it is standing very, very still ... unless you count the movement of mosquito larvae beneath the surface.  o_0

    One time, X and I raised baby mosquitoes.  Really.  A mosquito laid some eggs in our turtle aquarium, so we put the eggs into a covered dish, watched the babies hatch, and then set them free.  Go figure. 

  • @soNOTcool - Well they are interesting to watch as they do their little shimmy up and down in the water up to the surface and then down... Hey I was a curious kid too!

  • Mosquito babies.  Wow.

    I love the picnic table picture.  This water is causing SOOOOOOO many problems.  Sigh.

  • Wow.  I am grateful to see those photos! Be careful!

  • I didn't understand this at all until I looked at the second picture real carefully.

  • Hehe! Nice of them to invite FEMA in for a private dinner!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment